KTar: use unsigned arithmetic when calculating checksum of tar header record.
authorModestas Vainius <modax@debian.org>
Sat, 14 May 2011 16:53:45 +0000 (19:53 +0300)
committerModestas Vainius <modax@debian.org>
Sat, 14 May 2011 17:55:19 +0000 (20:55 +0300)
commitaf9374ec888f9286002a24551f2512431fd1db72
tree73f2bf609efd54a8bda0b2edd3022b05a72160e9
parentba76428bf942340e3765c52387d19272b6f3532c
KTar: use unsigned arithmetic when calculating checksum of tar header record.

According to the ustar specification, implementations must use unsigned
arithmetic when calculating checksum field of the tar header record. KTar prior
to this patch used signed arithmetic for checksum calculation when writing an
archive. The patch fixes this.

However, there are more broken tar implementations out there (including former
KTar itself) so the patch also makes KTar to verify checksums using both
unsigned and signed arithmetic when reading archives. If either of checksums
matches, archive is accepted.

Implemented in ktar_header_checksum_fix.diff patch.
debian/changelog
debian/patches/ktar_header_checksum_fix.diff [new file with mode: 0644]
debian/patches/series